Are all animals equal?

animal farm

Animal Farm, by George Orwell

“Mr. Jones, of the Manor Farm, had locked the hen-houses for the night, but was too drunk to remember to shut the pop-holes.”

I went on a hiking trip recently and I had to bring with me a few small, light books, just to read on the train on my way there or in a few moments of boredom -of which I had none-. The thing is I decided to get the smallest book in my bookshelf: the famous and broadly known Animal Farm by George Orwell. I read 1984 a few years ago and, although at the time I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would, now I realize the impact it has had on me -but I will tell that story when I make a review for that other book-.

So, I’m writing now about the awesome masterpiece that is Animal Farm. At first I thought it was a beginners edition for people who want to learn English or something like that because of its simplicity. But when I stopped to think about it I realized that a good book has no need to be filled with grandiloquent words and pompous sentences, on the contrary, I’d rather read an easily composition with a great meaning than the other way round.

orwell

George Orwell (his real name was Eric Arthur Blair)

I suppose most of the people interested in books and reading books reviews -you have to really be into books for that- have read, or at least know what Animal Farm is about. Nonetheless, a quick way to make a summary is to say that Orwell portrays the Russian revolution through a great allegory that involves a revolution on a farm lead by the pigs.

I can only say that the way George Orwell tells the tale has an effect on us, readers, as if we suddenly realize how full of lies our society is -well, that’s if you didn’t know that already before reading it-. On the other hand, it is even a good book to read for the youngest ones, as while they may not get the meaning of the whole plot they do understand the story itself.

All in all, I would definitely tell everyone, literary preferences aside, to read Animal Farm whenever they have a couple of hours without knowing what to do, because it is as long as it will take you to get over it, and it’s a book you have to read to go through life, just as 1984.

“All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others.” 

-Wild

Responder

